



The Dominion Post Wednesday 25/7/2007

Page: 4

Section: Advertisements

Region: Wellington Circulation: 98,251

Type: Metro

Size: 287.02 sq.cms. Published: MTWTF--

> Wellington Regional Council's offices, 142-146 Wakefield Street, Wellington and 34 Chapel Street, Masterton

Brief: AD-WRC(W)

- New Zealand Post shops in the Wellington region
- the principal offices of the relevant city/district councils (listed below)
- all libraries in the Wellington region.

You may enrol or amend your enrolment details by:

- · completing the appropriate form:
 - in the enrolment pack sent to you by the Electoral Enrolment Centre
 - at any New Zealand Post shop in the Wellington region
 - available from your local city or district council offices
- · accessing the appropriate forms from the Electoral Enrolment Centre website - www.elections.org.nz
- telephoning 0800 ENROLNOW (0800 367656).

Applications to enrol as a ratepayer elector are available from the Electoral Officer of your city/district council and must be returned to that Electoral Officer.

Following closure of the rolls, the Electoral Officer of the relevant city/district council (shown below), may, on the application of any person who is or claims to be entitled to be enrolled or any other person or otherwise, make any necessary corrections to any names, addresses, occupations, abbreviations, marks, or other details, appearing in the electoral rolls.

Election

Under section 52 of the Local Electoral Act 2001, I hereby give notice that on Saturday 13 October 2007, the following elections will be held under the First Past the Post electoral system by postal vote:

Regional Council 2007 Elections

Notice of Election, Nomination of Candidates

Election of five (5) members to the Wellington Constituency Election of three (3) members to the Lower Hutt Constituency

Election of two (2) members to the Porirua - Tawa Constituency

Election of one (1) member to the Kapiti Constituency

and Availability of Electoral Rolls

Greater Wellington

Election of one (1) member to the Upper Hutt Constituency Election of one (1) member to the Wairarapa Constituency.

Nomination of Candidates

Nominations open on Friday 27 July 2007 and must be in my hands at 142-146 Wakefield Street, Wellington, no later than 12 noon on Friday 24 August 2007.

Each candidate must be nominated on the appropriate nomination paper. You can aet this from:

- the reception desk, Wellington Regional Council, 142-146 Wakefield Street, Wellington and 34 Chapel Street, Masterton
- www.gw.govt.nz/elections
- the Electoral Officer (ph: 381 7792) or Deputy Electoral Officer (ph: 802 0348).

You must pay a deposit of \$200 (GST inclusive) no later than 12 noon Friday 24 August 2007. Deposits can be paid in cash or by cheque (bank or personal) made out to Greater Wellington Regional Council.

A candidate may submit a candidate profile statement, which may include a recent photograph for sending out with the voting documents to electors. The candidate profile statement and photograph must be submitted no later than 12 noon on Friday 24 August 2007. An attachment to the nomination paper outlines the rules and procedures for candidate profile statements and photographs.

Early Processing of Returned Voting **Documents and Order of Candidates' Names**

Wellington Regional Council has resolved pursuant to section 79 of the Local Electoral Act 2001 that the completed voting documents will be processed during the three week voting period. The Council has also resolved that the candidates' names will be in alphabetical order on the voting document.

Electoral Rolls

The Electoral Rolls to be used for this election close at 5pm on Friday 24 August 2007. From 27 July 2007, you can inspect the relevant Electoral Rolls at:

Voting Period

The voting period will be from 21 September to 12 noon on 13 October 2007.

Briefing Session for People interested in Standing in the Election

There will be a candidate information evening for persons interested in standing as a candidate for the election at 7:00 pm on Thursday 9 August 2007 at the Regional Council Centre, 142 Wakefield Street, Wellington.

Dated at Wellington, 20 July 2007

Margaret Meek **Electoral Officer**

Wellington Regional Council

City/District Councils in the Wellington region Wellington City Council, 101 Wakefield Street, Wellington Hutt City Council, 30 Laings Road, Lower Hutt Masterton District Council, 64 Chapel Street, Masterton Carterton District Council, Holloway Street, Carterton South Wairarapa District Council, 19 Kitchener Street, Martinborough Upper Hutt City Council, 838-842 Fergusson Drive, Upper Hutt Porirua City Council, Cnr Hagley Street and Cobham Court, Porirua City Kapiti Coast District Council, 175 Rimu Road, Paraparaumu Tararua District Council, 26 Gordon Street, Dannevirke



www.gw.govt.nz

greater WELLINGTON THE REGIONAL COUNCIL