



The Dominion Post

Thursday 30/8/2007

Page: 10

Section: Advertisements

Region: Wellington Circulation: 98,251

Type: Metro

Size: 303.79 sq.cms. Published: MTWTF--

Wellington Regional Council's 2007 Elections

I give notice under section 65 of the Local Electoral Act 2001 that the following people have been nominated as candidates for the Wellington Regional Council:

heapie nave neci	i nominatea as canadates for the	. Wennington neglonal count
Constituency	Names of Candidates	Affiliation/Designation
WELLINGTON	AITKEN, Judith	
(5 vacancies)	APPLEBY, Michael	Independent
	BABER, Sally	
	BARCLAY, Matt	Independent
	BARR, Hugh	Independent
	BRUCE, Paul	Green
	COARD, Tony	•
	DARNTON, Bernard Timothy	Libertarianz
	FLEMING, Michael	-
	GIBSON, Michael	Independent
	GILBERTHORPE, John	Independent
	HAMLIN, lan	Independent
	LAIDLAW, Chris	Independent
	LEGARTH, Yvonne	Independent
	MORGAN, Thomas	Thomas For Wellington
	PONTER, Daran	Labour City Vision
	WILDE, Fran	-

LOWER HUTT GILBERT, John GLENSOR, Peter (3 vacancies) GREIG, Sandra

LAMASON, Prue PUKETAPU, Te Rira (Teri)

RUMBLE, Mike WHITESIDE, Richard

BAKER, Grant

PORIRUA-TAWA (2 vacancies)

BURKE, John Brian CLARK, Kent DONALDSON, Barbara WATERS, Tracey

(1 vacancy)

WAIRARAPA

KAPITI COAST LLOYD, Tony LONGUET, Russell

ORZECKI, Richard Edward WILSON, Nigel

KIRTON, Rex

BUCHANAN, lan (1 vacancy) CAMERON, Perry HUNT, PJ

UPPER HUTT (1 vacancy)

Independent

Hutt 2020 - Ken Laban's Team Independent

Team Ray Wallace Independent

Hutt 2020 - Ken Laban's Team

Independent Independent Independent

Independent Independent Independent

Independent

Independent

Greater Wairarapa

Election day

As there are more candidates than there are vacancies to be filled in the Wellington, Lower Hutt, Porirua-Tawa, Kapiti Coast, and Wairarapa constituencies, an election will be held between the candidates listed in those constituencies on 13 October 2007. The election will be held under the First Past the Post electoral system and conducted by postal voting.

Candidate declared elected

As there is one candidate for the single vacancy in the Upper Hutt constituency, an election will not be held in this constituency and I declare, under section 63 of the Local Electoral Act 2001, Rex Kirton to be elected.

Voting documents

Voting documents will be forwarded to electors between Friday, 21 September and Wednesday, 26 September 2007. Voting documents must be returned by post or delivered to the Electoral Officer of the relevant city or district council not later than 12 noon on Saturday, 13 October 2007. (Correctly addressed, freepost envelopes will be provided with voting documents.)

At its meeting on 22 February 2007, the Wellington Regional Council resolved, under section 79 of the Local Electoral Act 2001, to permit the processing of voting documents during the voting period. This process does not include the counting

Candidates' names will be arranged on the voting document in alphabetical order

The voting period begins on Friday, 21 September and ends at 12 noon on Saturday, 13 October 2007.

Enrolment

Persons who are not on the electoral roll may apply to enrol, either as a residential or ratepayer elector, not later than Friday, 12 October 2007.

Applications to enrol as a residential elector must be received by the Registrar of Electors by the close of business on Friday, 12 October 2007. This can be done at most New Zealand Post Shops in the region or through the Electoral Enrolment Centre.

City and district councils handle applications for registration as a ratepayer elector. Completed forms must be in the hands of the Electoral Officer of the relevant city or district council before 5pm on Friday, 12 October 2007.

Electors who enrol between now and 12 October 2007 and would like to vote in the local government elections will need to apply to the Electoral Officer of their local city or district council for a special vote before 12 noon on Saturday, 13 October 2007.

Dated at Wellington, 27 August 2007.

Margaret Meek **Electoral Officer**

Wellington Regional Council

www.gw.govt.nz

greater WELLINGTON REGIONAL COUNCIL