## **Council and committees** Greater Wellington Regional Council



## What is the role of the Regional Councillors?

Elected members, acting as the Council, are responsible for governance. This includes:

- Developing and adopting Council policy and budgets
- Monitoring the Council's performance against its stated objectives
- Prudent stewardship of Council resources
- Employing the Chief Executive.

## What does the Council do?

The Council and its various committees meet approximately every six weeks to receive reports from Greater Wellington staff, debate issues and decide on policy. The Council decides the overall policies, while the Greater Wellington's management provides advice to the Council and is responsible for carrying out the Council's decisions. In general, meetings are open to the public and notified in local newspapers and on the Greater Wellington website.

## How many committees are there within the Council?

To assist in the efficient running of business, the Council has established eight committees and one subcommittee. The terms of reference for the committees and subcommittee set out the responsibilities that have been delegated by the Council.

The Council is also a member of three joint committees with other councils in the region:

- Civil Defence Emergency Management Group (administered by Greater WellingtonRegional Council)
- Wellington Regional Leadership Committee (administered by Greater Wellington RegionalCouncil)
- Wellington Water Committee (administered by Hutt City Council)
- Te Awarua-o-Porirua Harbour and Catchment Joint Committee (administered by PoriruaCity Council).

Council committee	Environment	Transport	Chief Executive Employment Review	Climate	Finance, Risk and Assurance	Regional Transport	Te Upoko Taiao – Natural Resources Plan	Wairarapa	Hutt Valley Flood Management Subcommittee
Chair and Deputy Chair	<b>Chair</b> Cr Penny Gaylor <b>Deputy Chair</b> Cr Ros Connelly	<b>Chair</b> Cr Roger Blakeley <b>Deputy Chair</b> Cr David Lee	<b>Chair</b> Cr Glenda Hughes <b>Deputy Chair</b> Cr Penny Gaylor	<b>Chair</b> Cr Thomas Nash <b>Deputy Chair</b> Cr David Lee	<b>Chair</b> Martin Matthews <b>Deputy Chair</b> Cr Chris Kirk-Burnnand	<b>Chair</b> Cr Adrienne Staples <b>Deputy Chair</b> Cr Daran Ponter	<b>Co-Chair</b> Cr Jenny Brash	<b>Chair</b> Cr Adrienne Staples	<b>Chair</b> Cr Prue Lamason <b>Deputy Chair</b> Cr Josh van Lier
Committee functions	<ul> <li>Biodiversity</li> <li>Biosecurity</li> <li>Harbour navigation and safety</li> <li>Soil conservation/ land management</li> <li>Wairarapa Moana</li> <li>Community environmental groups</li> <li>Flood management</li> <li>Regional parks and recreation land and facilities</li> <li>RMA oversight</li> </ul>	<ul> <li>Sustainable transport, walking and cycling</li> <li>Public transport</li> <li>Reducing impacts of the region's transport system on the environment</li> </ul>	Conduct a Chief Executive recruitment process (if required)	<ul> <li>Climate change leaderships for Greater Wellington's strategies, programmes and initiatives</li> </ul>	<ul> <li>Audit</li> <li>Risk</li> <li>Assurance</li> <li>Health and Safety</li> <li>Insurance</li> <li>Monitoring and review of financial policies and financial performance</li> </ul>	<ul> <li>Promote the objectives of the Land Transport Management Act 2003</li> <li>Regional Land Transport Plan</li> </ul>	<ul> <li>Regional plan development and review</li> </ul>	<ul> <li>Issues relevant to the Wairarapa, including but not limited to:         <ul> <li>flood protection</li> <li>land management</li> <li>biosecurity</li> <li>biodiversity</li> <li>public transport</li> <li>natural resource management</li> </ul> </li> </ul>	Hutt Valley-specific flood management

Greater Wellington Regional Council's committees

The terms of reference and membership of each committee are available on Greater Wellington's website.